Are you tired of, ‘Pin the tail on the sinner!’

1 Timothy 1:15 NASB
“15It is a trustworthy statement, deserving full acceptance, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners, among whom I am foremost of all.”

Often times the hardest part of being a Christian is recognizing that we are sinners in the flesh because of the sin that entered through Adam. It is easy to walk through this life acting like the Pharisee;
…” ‘God, I thank You that I am not like other people: swindlers, unjust, adulterers, or even like this tax collector. ‘I fast twice a week; I pay tithes of all that I get.’”…(Luke 18:11,12)
… or if we were to add today’s version,…
‘God, I thank You that I am not like other people: homosexuals, pedophiles, murderers. I go to church every week, pay tithe, volunteer at church functions…’

Far too often we forget which person was justified! The Pharisee or the Publican (Tax Collector). Yet what did the Tax Collector say?

““But the tax collector, standing some distance away, was even unwilling to lift up his eyes to heaven, but was beating his breast, saying, ‘God, be merciful to me, the sinner!’” (Luke 18:13)

Are you spending too much time focused on the ‘wrong-doers’, telling them how sinful their lives are? Are we not sinners? If Paul, the Apostle to the Gentiles, could call himself, “Chief among sinners, foremost of all”; just where can we stand in comparison to Paul?

I am so thankful that Jesus didn’t come to save righteous people, rather He came to save sinners!

Leave a Reply

